History of faculty

When Karakalpak State University was founded in 1976 two faculties, physics and mathematics were opened in the basis of Faculty of Physics and Mathematics of Pedagogical Institution.

Candidate of technic science and Docent B.Orimbetov was appointed as a dean of Physics Faculty, while Professor J.Qutlimuratov as a dean of Mathematics faculty.

In this position Docent B.Orimbetov worked successfully by 1986. In 1986-1989 Professor B.A.Abdukamalov, in 1989-1993 Docent M.I.Arzuov, in 1993-1998 M.A.Kan headed Faculty of Physics. In 1998, Faculty of Physics and Faculty of Mathematics were incorporated and it was reorganized as Faculty of Physics and Mathematics and Docent B.B.Prenov headed it by 2003.

On May 2003 in the basis of this faculty Physics and Mathematics faculties reorganized, B.A. Abdikamalov has run the faculty of Physics and B. Prenov has run the faculty of Mathematics until 2005. On August 2005 physics and engineering construction faculties were united, organized as Physics-Engineering Faculty and Doctor of Mathematics Science, Professor Q.A. Ismaylov was chosen to the dean of this faculty.

On November 2009 due to the growth in a number of specialists and students it was opened again under the name Physics Faculty and Professor Q.A. Ismaylov has run until 2011.

In 1976-1985 Professor J. Kutlimuratov, in 1990-1993 Docent O.D. Nurjanov, in 1993-1995 Docent H. Baymuratov, in 1995-1996 Professor A. Otarov, in 1996-1997 Professor N. Uteuliev headed the Faculty of Mathematics. Since April 1997, Docent B. Prenov headed the faculty, and in September 1998, Faculty of Physics and Mathematics were incorporated and it was reorganized as Faculty of Physics and Mathematics and Docent B.B. Prenov headed it by 2005.

In 2005-2007 docent M.M. Ibragimov, in 2007-2009 M.K. Berdimuratov, in 2009-2011 J.P. Allanazarov, in 2011-2018 docent B.P. Otemuratov headed,  from June 2018 to April 2019 docent M.U. Nasirov headed the Mathematics Faculty. Because of the increasing of contingents, and on April the Physics Faculty separated from Mathematics. Now, according to the new structures Docent M. Nasirov is heading the faculty.

In the Physics Faculty, specialists are prepared for Bachelor’s and Master’s Degree in a following way:

  1. 5440100- Physics
  2. 5310100- Energetics (thermal energy)
  3. 5310200- Electrical power engineering (energy produce and insulate)
  4. 5310700- Electrical engineering, Electro mechanics, and Electro technology (mechanical engineering)
  5. 5310900- Metrology (standardize and production quality, industry)

The specialties of Master’s Degree

  1. 5A140204- Condensed environments physics and materialization (by species)

International scientific-technical cooperation

  1. Research Institute of Physics of Semiconductors named after B.E. Lashkarev.
  2. Sumi State University (Ukraine)

International Programs and Projects

  1. Features of laser induced non-linear defect formation process in semiconductors.
  • Quantity of professor-teachers: 49
  • Doctors of Science: 3
  • Candidates of Science: 12